Visa & Passport Services

Suspension of the Visa-free Regime

On Temporary Suspension of Visa-free Regime

The government of Kazakhstan has temporarily suspended its unilateral visa-free regime for citizens of 57 states, including the United States, on 17 April 2020.

The suspension of the visa free regime is effective until 1 November 2020.

The above means that the citizens of the United States who are planning to visit Kazakhstan before 1 November 2020 will need to obtain a visa of the appropriate category at their assigned consular section office.

The 72-hour visa-free regime has also been suspended for Chinese and Indian nationals who transit through the international airports of Nur-Sultan, Almaty, Shymkent, Aktau, Karaganda and Taraz.

Please pay attention to an important change in the conditions for obtaining a Kazakh visa.

Please note that citizens of 48 countries have the right to obtain a single-entry visa to Kazakhstan without a formal letter of invitation (visa support) in the following categories:

  • Service (A3) - duration of stay 90 days
  • Business (B1) - duration of stay 60 days
  • Business (B3) - duration of stay 30 days
  • Private (B10) - duration of stay 90 days
  • Tourist (B12) - duration of stay 30 days

All visas will be issued in accordance with the current rules of issuing visas of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

For all other visa categories, citizens of the above countries will need to provide a formal letter of invitation (visa support) issued via the immigration agency in the Republic of Kazakhstan, with the exceptions specified in the Rules of Issuing Visas of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Citizens of the following countries that must obtain an visa to enter Kazakhstan: Australia, USA, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Bulgaria, UAE, Vatican, Vietnam Germany, Greece, Denmark, New Zealand, Japan, Israel, Ireland, Iceland, Spain, Indonesia, Italy, Canada, Qatar, Cyprus, Colombia, South Korea, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malaysia, Malta , Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, Norve tions, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom and Northern Ireland, the Philippines, Finland, France, Croatia, Czech Republic, Chile, Switzerland, Sweden and Estonia.