Visa & Passport Services

Citizenships with Visa-free Privileges

The great Kazakh steppe is naturally wide open, and so is Kazakhstan’s visa-free policy. Citizens of dozens of countries, OECD member states and the EU are unilaterally exempt from visa requirements for certain travel purposes and for durations of fewer than 30 consecutive days per entry. Visa-free privileges allow one to enter, exit and transit through Kazakhstan without a visa. There are no limits on the number of visa-free entries or visits each year. Citizens of countries without visa-free privileges are indeed very welcome in Kazakhstan but will require a visa. Visa approvals are made quickly to complete applications with all documentations properly provided.

Citizens of following countries may enter Kazakhstan without applying for visas if the period of stay in the Republic of Kazakhstan does not exceed 30 calendar days from the moment of crossing the State border of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Visa waiver will stay in effect for the stated countries until further notice.


Visa info for citizens of India & China


For citizens of the People’s Republic of China and the Republic of India, who transit through international airports of Astana and Almaty, Kazakhstan has announced a 72-hour visa-free regime for entry, stay and departure from the Republic of Kazakhstan until December 31, 2018.

Citizens of these countries who use the 72-hour visa-free regime are registered by the Border Guard Service of the National Security Committee of the Republic of Kazakhstan at checkpoints across the State border of the Republic of Kazakhstan, and issued migration cards indicating the time of crossing the State Border of the Republic of Kazakhstan.