US Citizens

Suspension of the Visa-free Regime

On Temporary Suspension of Visa-free Regime

In order to prevent the spread of COVID-19 in Kazakhstan, the government of Kazakhstan has temporarily suspended its unilateral visa-free regime for citizens of 57 states, including the United States, starting from 17 April 2020.

The 72-hour visa-free regime has also been suspended for Chinese and Indian nationals who transit through the international airports of Nur-Sultan, Almaty, Shymkent, Aktau, Karaganda and Taraz.

The said suspension is effective from 17 April to 1 November 2020.

The above means that the citizens of the United States who are planning to visit Kazakhstan before 1 November 2020 will need to obtain a visa of the appropriate category at their assigned consular section office.

Please pay attention to an important change in the conditions for obtaining a Kazakh visa.


When collecting their passports with Kazakh visa from the consular office, visa applicants must present a medical certificate confirming that they do not have a coronavirus infection issued within 48 hours prior to their visit to the consular office. Failure to present such a certificate will result in cancellation of their Kazakh visa.

Please note that citizens of 48 countries have the right to obtain a single-entry visa to Kazakhstan without a formal letter of invitation (visa support) in the following categories:

  • Service (A3) - duration of stay 90 days
  • Business (B1) - duration of stay 60 days
  • Business (B3) - duration of stay 30 days
  • Private (B10) - duration of stay 90 days
  • Tourist (B12) - duration of stay 30 days

All visas will be issued in accordance with the current rules of issuing visas of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

For all other visa categories, citizens of the above countries will need to provide a formal letter of invitation (visa support) issued via the immigration agency in the Republic of Kazakhstan, with the exceptions specified in the Rules of Issuing Visas of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Citizens of the following countries that must obtain an entry visa to enter Kazakhstan: Australia, USA, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Bulgaria, UAE, Vatican, Vietnam Germany, Greece, Denmark, New Zealand, Japan, Israel, Ireland, Iceland, Spain, Indonesia, Italy, Canada, Qatar, Cyprus, Colombia, South Korea, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malaysia, Malta , Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, Norve tions, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom and Northern Ireland, the Philippines, Finland, France, Croatia, Czech Republic, Chile, Switzerland, Sweden and Estonia.